In March, CPH:DOX will for the first time be coming to Northern and Southern Jutland, and of course will continue touring throughout Zealand. 

In 2014, CPH:DOX launched its project DOX:ON:TOUR with the goal of turning CPH:DOX into a regional festival with activities throughout the country.

In its first year, the project screened fresh, eye-opening documentaries in Cooperation with Kulturmetropol in the Capital region, and in 2015 the project extended to the region of Zealand.

This year, both the Northern Jutland region and Kulturregionen Vadehavet will be part on DOX:ON:TOUR during CPH:DOX in 2017, giving the festival the opportunity to visit all 42 municipalities, between March 16-30. That’s more than twice the number than in the last edition of CPH:DOX.

23 brand new municipalities 

About 20 former municipalities will be waving the DOX-flag under the festival in 2017, while for the first time CPH:DOX will have the opportunity to go to 23 new municipalities. In Kulturmetropolen this includes Furesø, Ballerup, and Gribskov, and in North Jutland it is Aalborg, Læsø and Frederikshavn. In Kulturregionen Vadehavet, the film projector will most likely be coming to Barrels, Varde and Esbjerg. The final programme in the municipalities is to be confirmed.

The films shown in the cities part of DOX:ON:TOUR will be first published in mid-February. The films always put focus on current and debate-generating themes, chosen in close cooperation with local cultural institutions, partners and schools. The film screenings are usually accompanied by presentations, debates or events with public figures from inside and outside the municipality. This way, the municipalities become active participants in the large festival that creates events across the region.

In 2017 will CPH:DOX come to, or close to, the following municipalities.


Albertslund, Ballerup, Frederikssund, Furesø, Gladsaxe, Gribskov, Halsnæs, Herlev, Helsingør, Ishøj, Køge, Roskilde & Rødovre.

Region Zealand:

Faxe, Greve, Guldborgssund, Holbæk, Kalundborg, Lejre, Lolland, Næstved, Odsherred, Ringsted, Slagelse, Solrød, Sorø & Vordingborg.

Region North Jutland:

Brønderslev, Frederikshavn, Hjørring, Jammerbugt, Læsø, Mariager Fjord, Morsø, Rebild, Thisted, Vesthimmerland & Aalborg.

Kulturregion Vadehavet:

Tønder, Varde, Fanø & Esbjerg.